Categories
Books Poetry

Poems for Valentine’s Day

Here are some wonderful love poems for Valentine's Day. It is an eclectic collection, ranging from Ben Jonson to John Donne, Andrew Marvell and Robert Burns and going on to WH Auden, John Betjeman, Margaret Atwood, Carol Ann Duffy, Wendy Cope, James Fenton, Adrian Henri, Brian Patten, Leah Furnas and Debra Spencer.

What's the connection?

Well, I love these poems.

Click on the plain-vanilla hyperlinked scroller to go from first love through the various phases to marriage and old age. You can also view it as a slideshow. Click on the view mode to change from "scroll" to "slide".

Poems for Valentine’s Day http://d1.scribdassets.com/ScribdViewer.swf?document_id=26824124&access_key=key-sblpmodxfz7tsa5rsmb&page=1&viewMode=list

Categories
Books Poetry

Any Prince To Any Princess by Adrian Henri

I have loved Adrian Henri ever since I read him in my schooldays in Calcutta (now Kolkata) in the Penguin Modern Poets’ Mersey Sound. The slim red paperback with photo negatives of mop-headed young men on the cover, which included poems by him and two other Liverpool poets Brian Patten and Roger McGough, has sold half a million copies and remains one of the best-selling poetry collections of all time, said the Guardian in Adrian Henri’s obituary. He died in 2000 at the age of 68.

I dearly miss my Mersey Sound. Somehow I lost my copy and have never seen the book again. Even those who normally don’t read poetry but like pop music should read Mersey Sound if they can find the book. The poems are catchy and easy to understand just like pop music but experiment with verse and typography.

Adrian Henri was a free spirit in the tradition of Byron and Shelley, the Guardian said in his obituary and recalled a funny story:

He told me how, after a gig, he had gone back to a girl’s room in some desolate seaside town and lost his wallet. Forced to leave before breakfast in the morning, he walked by the grey waves and, hearing a seagull, looked up — and a piece of bread dropped into his open mouth.

The following poem is typical Adrian Henri, clever, accessible and humorous. Anyone young at heart will enjoy Adrian Henri’s updating of fairy tales and turning them upside down. It’s like those Monty Python movies though not quite so funny.

It can’t be hilarious but wry because this is a poem about hard times.

I first read it in the anthology, Good Poems for Hard Times, edited by Garrison Keillor. He presented them on his radio show, The Writer’s Almanac.

 Any Prince To Any Princess

By Adrian Henri

August is coming
and the goose, I’m afraid,
is getting fat.
There have been
no golden eggs for some months now.
Straw has fallen well below market price
despite my frantic spinning
and the sedge is,
as you rightly point out,
withered.

I can’t imagine how the pea
got under your mattress. I apologize
humbly. The chambermaid has, of course,
been sacked. As has the frog footman.
I understand that, during my recent fact-finding tour of the
      Golden River,
despite your nightly unavailing efforts,
he remained obstinately
froggish.